Kelly's Process Journal

Planning to Start, Planning to Finish

I thought that this podcast was really eye opening about approaches to the creative process and my own tendencies, especially when thinking about how I've planned for the Series project. I had never really considered the difference between planning to finish and planning to start. Maybe it's because I've never taken on an open-ended project without a strict deadline or because of how my brain is wired, but I'm always planning to end. From school assignments to life goals, there's always a final destination in mind. I think I like to close chapters on things and feel done with them. There's no better feeling than closing all the tabs of an assignment and never having to think about it again.

I would like to think I could start to plan to start, but it's definitely a scary concept. A project that goes on indefinitely feels like a much bigger task than one with an end in sight. Take, for example, thinking about COVID and trying to plan during the pandemic. In the months preceding the vaccine release, the pandemic didn't seem to have an end in sight, and trying to plan for the future seemed unattainable because we didn't know what the future would look like or how the tides would turn. Now, with the vaccine and the hope for a return to normal life in the near future, it feels like there's been a collective sigh of relief as we can know what to expect and plan accordingly.

That might be a bad example, but regardless, I find planning to start intimidating. Especially with my Series project, I feel like I have an end product in mind that I'm trying to reach by March 29th. Maybe I should reevaluate that standard for myself and try to think more openly about the development process.