Kelly's Process Journal

Series - Update

Original Concept Idea

My original proposal consisted of interviewing my roommates. I had not yet decided what I would ask or how I would go about the interview. I just knew that I wanted to somehow showcase the range of personalities and way those people come together under one roof. As outlined in my series ideas post, I talked about asking them a lot of different things and making the webpage resemble a house with each window leading to a new interview. However, as I thought more about the project and how it could be represented digitally, my ideas adapted to the medium.

Adapted Idea

In thinking about the questions I wanted to ask my roommates, I ended up being drawn to the idea of storytelling. Obviously, I have my own favorite memories from our time together over the last couple months, but would others have different highlights? This is ultimately the main driver of my interviews now, collecting different stories from my roommates and assembling them to be experienced together. My aim is to create an abstract portrayal of our house floor plan and connect each story collected to a certain room. From these compilations, I will assign each room a color that matches the energy of the memories. I also want to make sure that I include a profiles page that introduces everybody and gives a basic intro to each person. I think it would be fun to include personality pictures (that are kind of cheesy and not something you would post normally) to help encapsulate everyone's story and their perspectives.