Kelly's Process Journal

Series - Writing the Content

Interviews

My conducting of interviews was super informal, just recorded conversations where we talked about what's happened in the house. I tried to keep them short in respect for thesis time, as the stress of looming deadlines is definitely starting to weigh on some people. I was reminded of so many fun moments when talking to all of them and it was a nice break from current stresses. I see this website as almost a way to escape for myself and preserve the memories throughout the year.

Writing

Translating the interviews into short stories wasn't too hard as I had experienced all of these events first hand as well. I found myself blending a lot of different experiences together, making connections between different days and people as I went along. I hope that my writing comes off as the same way I would talk about days in the house in person, casually and excitedly, flowing one thing into the next. I didn't want this to be formal and stiff, I wanted it to be fun - a time capsule of memories.